Today is Malaysia’s national day. I posted about Singapore’s national day in my previous post┬áso today I shall post about Malaysia’s national day. Technically Malaysia celebrates 2 national days. Merdeka day which is the day that peninsular Malaysia obtained its independence from the British in 1957. This “country” was known as the Federation of Malaya, or simply Malaya, made up of the 11 states on the peninsular. Later on the 6th anniversary of Merdeka day in 1961, the Federation of Malaya, North Borneo, Sarawak and Singapore were to form into a new country, the Federation of Malaysia. This was postponed to 16 September due to Indonesia and Philippines opposing the Federation. ┬áSince then Malaysia Day is celebrated on 16 September 1961.

Hence the 2 national days, one for independence from British rule and one for the formation of Malaysia with North Boreno (now know as Sabah) and Sarawak. Singapore was kicked out of the Federation of Malaysia in 1963 and is the only country in the world to obtain independence against their will. Continue reading “Malaysia Merdeka Day & Bersih 4.0”